Photo of Langston University main campus facing the library clock tower and fountain area during daylight


The Langston University Leadership team is a diverse group of men and women who are passionate about education and dedicated to improving the future of our students.


President Ruth Ray Jackson, Ph.D., is committed to taking Oklahoma’s only historically black institution of higher education to the next level.

Dr. Ruth Ray Jackson
Dr. Ruth Ray Jackson
Email 405-466-3202 Office of the President
Administrative Council

LU’s Administrative Council consists of unit directors, vice presidents, and other key administrators and appointees. The role of the Council is to serve in an advisory capacity to the president on matters of operations, budget, and other key issues that impact the University.

Theresa Powell
Vice President for Operations
Email 405-466-3233
Dr. Alonzo Peterson
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Email 405-466-6113
Jonathan R. Smith
Director of Fiscal Integrated Services
Email 405-744-1887
Joshua A. Busby
Executive Director of Foundation, Dean of Students
Email 405-466-3444
Dr. Sherri Smith-Keys
Associate Vice President for Clinical Affairs and Executive Director LU-Tulsa
Email 918-877-8140
Dr. Andre Washington
Interim Site Administrators for LU-OKC
Email 405-662-0946
Chris Kuwitzky
Vice President for Fiscal and Administrative Affairs
Email 405-466-3259
Heath P. Burge
Assistant Vice President for Strategic Enrollment and Advising Services
Email 405-466-3502
Dr. Christianna Howard-Smith
Chair, Faculty Senate
Email 405-466-3308
Nathanael Rakestraw-Edwards
President, Student Government Association
Deans & Directors

LU’s excellence is centered within its many divisions, which work together as one university. Langston’s deans and directors guide academic initiatives, research, and educational programs on the divisional level.

Dr. Wesley Whittaker
Dean, Sherman Lewis School of Agriculture & Applied Sciences; Interim Dean, School of Business
Email 405-466-6150
Dr. John K. Coleman
Dean, School of Arts & Sciences
Email 636-448-4120
Dr. Daryl D. Green
Dean, School of Business
Email 405-466-3278
Dr. Emily Patterson Harris
Dean, School of Education & Behavioral Sciences
Email 918-877-8158
Dr. Teressa Hunter
Dean, School of Nursing & Health Professions
Email 405-466-3274
Dr. Elicia Pollard
School of Physical Therapy
Email 405-466-XXXX
Governing Boards

The Governing Boards of the institution guide and support Langston. They serve in the capacity to navigate complex issues, implement leading practices, streamline operations, and govern with confidence.