By Christina Gray, Media Relations Specialist

Langston, Oklahoma – Five outstanding women leaders were honored at Langston University’s annual Women in Leadership luncheon on Thursday, April 20, 2017. The following leaders were recognized for their remarkable achievements in their various professions: Ms. Beverly Binkowski, Division Vice President, Government Relations and Public Affairs at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma; Mrs. Kelly Dyer Fry, Editor of The Oklahoman; Mrs. Lou C. Kerr, President and Chair, of the Kerr Foundation, Inc.; Mrs. Joel-lyn McCormick, Langston University alumna and Assistant U.S. Attorney; and Mrs. Ramunda Lark Young, Langston University alumna and Co-Founder and Partner of Mahogany Books.

In addition to recognizing outstanding women leaders, the event also provides support for the University’s Young Women’s Empowerment Institute (YWEI). The luncheon offered local leaders the opportunity to gain valuable insight into the YWEI mentoring program and a chance to hear how lives have been changed through participation. 

About the Young Women’s Empowerment Institute

YWEI is a mentorship program for freshmen female students attending Langston University. It is designed to prepare them for the next stages of life and career through empowerment, support and connections. YWEI is dedicated to the advancement of young women in the workplace and committed to leadership, communication and skill development. Initially derived from a partnership between Langston University and the Central Area of The Links, Incorporated, the program was created to empower young college women to successfully manage the collegiate landscape and graduate ready to engage the global community.

 Founded in 1897, Langston University (LU) boasts three campuses located in Langston, Oklahoma City and Tulsa. LU has been recognized as a top institution of higher learning for affordability, ranking number three among all Historically Black Colleges and Universities in the U.S., according to Langston offers more than 40 associate, bachelors, masters, and doctoral programs across six academic colleges.